Header Arctowski Medal

The Arctowski Medal will be presented in 2015.

The Arctowski Medal is presented  every two years to recognize outstanding contributions to the study of solar physics and solar terrestrial relationships. The Medal is presented with an award of $20,000, plus $60,000 to support research in solar physics and solar terrestrial relationships at an institution of the recipient's choice. 

The Arctowski Medal was established in 1958 by the bequest of Jane Arctowska in honor of her husband, Henryk Arctowski. Arctowski was a Polish geologist, oceanographer, and meteorologist. Arctowski was one of the first people to winter in Antarctica during the Belgian Antarctic Expedition (1897-1899) and later became an internationally renowned meteorologist. In 1939 Henryk and Jane traveled from Poland to the United States to attend a conference of the International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics. While there, the Soviet Union and Nazi Germany invaded Poland. They never managed to return to Poland and lost all their possessions. Arctowski accepted a research position at the Smithsonian Institution, where he remained on staff until his death in 1950.

The Arctowski Medal was first presented in 1969 to Eugene N. Parker and J. Paul Wild. Parker is an American solar astrophysicist who, in the mid-1950s, developed the theory on the supersonic solar wind and predicted the Parker spiral shape of the solar magnetic field in the outer solar system. Parker remains a leading authority on the solar wind and the effects of magnetic fields in the heliosphere. Wild was a British-born Australian scientist. Following service in World War II as a radar officer in the Royal Navy, he became a radio astronomer in Australia for the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research. In the 1950s and 1960s he made discoveries based on radio observations of the Sun. In the late 1960s and early 1970s his team built and operated the world's first solar radio-spectrograph.

The most recent Arctowski Medal was presented in 2013 to John T. Gosling, senior research associate in the Laboratory for Atmospheric and Space Physics at the University of Colorado, Boulder, and retired laboratory fellow at Los Alamos National Laboratory. Gosling was honored for his a long series of insights into the generation of energetic solar events, especially distinguishing solar flares and Coronal Mass Ejections, and how they impact the heliosphere and Earth. 


John T. Gosling (2013)
For elucidating fundamental issues in the physics of the solar atmosphere and solar wind, including revealing the "Solar Flare Myth", discovering bi-directional solar-electron streaming and, in the last decade, finding reconnection events in the solar wind.

John W. Harvey (2011)
For major contributions to understanding the sun’s magnetic fields and its interior structure, and for developing the instrumentation that has made these discoveries possible.

Marcia Neugebauer (2010)
For definitively establishing the existence of the solar wind, critical to understanding the physics of the heliosphere, and for elucidating many of its key properties.

Leonard F. Burlaga (2008)
For pioneering studies of the magnetized solar wind plasma from 0.3 to 102 AU, including the recent crossings of the Voyagers of the heliospheric termination shock and their entry in the heliosheath.

Edward J. Smith (2005)
For his pioneering studies of the solar and heliospheric magnetic fields in deep space and of planetary magnetic fields and their interaction with the solar wind.

Roger K. Ulrich (2002)
For recognizing the solar five-minute oscillations as acoustic modes in the solar interior and systematically developing both the theory and the observations to establish today's precise standard model of the solar interior.

Arthur J. Hundhausen (1999)
For his exceptional research in solar and solar-wind physics, particularly in the area of coronal and solar-wind disturbances.

Raymond G. Roble (1996)
For his indispensable contributions to understanding the effects of variable solar inputs on the Earth's atmosphere and ionosphere by powerful global modeling techniques.

John A. Simpson (1993)
For his pioneering studies of the properties of the charged particle environment of the Sun, the Earth, and the other planets.

Peter A. Sturrock (1990)
For major contributions to the understanding of solar magnetic activity, especially with regard to the genesis and effect of solar flares.

John A. Eddy (1987)
For his demonstration of the existence and nature of solar variations of long term and the consequences of these changes for climate and for mankind.

William E. Gordon (1984)
For his pioneering development of theory and instrumentation for radar backscatter studies, which opened a broad field of research in the high altitude ionosphere.

Thomas M. Donahue (1981)
For his fundamental contributions to understanding the role of solar radiations in the physics and chemistry of the atmospheres and ionosphere of the Earth, Mars, and Venus.

John R. Winckler (1978)
For his outstanding research on the solar modulation and acceleration of high energy particles and the discoveries of solar flare gamma rays and auroral X-rays.

Jacques M. Beckers (1975)
For his extraordinary originality and achievement in the discovery and study of exotic small-scale phenomena in the Sun.

Francis S. Johnson (1972)
For his pioneering work in the physics of the high atmosphere and space.

Eugene N. Parker (1969)
For his comprehensive and imaginative contributions to the theoretical understanding of plasma interactions with the solar and terrestrial magnetic fields.

J. Paul Wild (1969)
In recognition of his many and comprehensive contributions to solar radio astronomy.


Powered by Convio
nonprofit software