Header Arthur L. Day Prize and Lectureship

Awarded to a scientist making lasting contributions to the study of the physics of the Earth and whose lectures will provide solid, timely, and useful additions to the knowledge and literature in the field. The nominee should also be a good speaker with the ability to summarize and synthesize current knowledge in the field. The recipients is awarded a $20,000 prize and funds to present a series of Day Lectures. Provided for by funds from the Arthur L. Day Bequest.

NAS Day Prize Lecture Series:

R. Lawrence Edwards presented a series of lectures on “Deciphering Climate Change from Underground” at Oberlin College & Conservatory on November 14th, 15th, and 21st, 2013. Read More »


Richard B. Alley (2014)
For his contributions to understanding the Earth’s past climate through high precision dating of ice cores and for his elucidation of the physical and chemical processes that govern the accumulation of ice and its movement in glaciers and ice streams.

R. Lawrence Edwards (2011)
For innovative use of U-Th and stable isotope systems to discover and quantify abrupt 30-500 ka temperature excursions and their timings attending Milankovitch cycle-induced global climate changes.

Stanley R. Hart (2008)
For development of the new field of "chemical geodynamics" through the use of the chemical and isotopic signature of mantle-derived samples to map and constrain the dynamical evolution of the Earth's interior.

Herbert E. Huppert (2005)
For fundamental research into the fluid mechanics of natural and multiphase flows and for pioneering the field of geological fluid mechanics.

Wallace S. Broecker (2002)
For his uniquely evocative, creative voice that has fundamentally changed the way we think about the role of oceans in the climate system.

Sean C. Solomon (1999)
For his analysis of seismological data constraining the tectonics of the earth's lithosphere, and for his development of global tectonic models of the moon and terrestrial planets.

James G. Anderson (1996)
For his pioneering work on the study of the abundance and chemical physics of radicals in the stratosphere and the effects of human influence on the ozone layer.

Hiroo Kanamori (1993)
For his outstanding contributions to the fundamental physics of the earthquake source process and to its application to earthquake prediction and mitigation of seismic risks.

Ho-kwang Mao (1990)
For his measurement of fundamental properties of elements and minerals under extreme conditions and development of the diamond cell to megabar pressures, thereby increasing our knowledge of planetary interiors.

Harmon Craig (1987)
For the masterful use of the isotopes of the elements from hydrogen through oxygen in attacking problems of cosmochemistry, mantle geochemistry, oceanography, and climatology.

Allan Cox (1984)
For his development of the geomagnetic-reversal time scale.

G. J. Wasserburg (1981)
For his work in the use of isotopes in studying geophysical problems of the solar system, ranging from the early solar nebula to rock formation on the moon and in the earth's mantle.

John Verhoogen (1978)
For his fundamental work on the thermodynamics of the earth's core and mantle, and his contributions to scholarship in the earth's sciences.

Drummond H. Matthews and Fred J. Vine (1975)
For their discovery that the stripes in oceanic magnetic anomaly patterns are a datable record of the history of sea-floor spreading and continental drift, thus making one of the major contributions to the revolution in earth sciences now known as plate tectonics.

Hatten S. Yoder, Jr. (1972)
For his work on mineral systems under extreme conditions of pressure and temperature.


Powered by Convio
nonprofit software