Header NAS Award in Early Earth and Life Sciences

Established by the NAS Council in October 2008 by combining two awards: The Charles Doolittle Walcott Medal established by a gift of Mrs. Mary Vaux Walcott in memory of her husband, Charles Doolittle Walcott, and the Stanley Miller Medal established through a bequest from NAS member Stanley Miller. The award rotates presentation between the Charles Doolittle Walcott Medal for research on Cambrian or pre-Cambrian life, and the Stanley Miller Medal which recognizes research on Earth's early development as a planet, including prebiotic chemistry and the origin of life; planetary accretion, differentiation, and tectonics; and early evolution of the atmosphere and oceans.


J. William Schopf (2013, Charles Doolittle Walcott Medal)
For his pioneering studies of Precambrian microfossils and for his generous and inspirational leadership of the Precambrian Paleobiology Research Groups.

Gerald F. Joyce (2010, Stanley Miller Medal)
For his pioneering experiments on the self-sustained replication and evolution of RNA enzymes (ribozymes), which illuminate key conceptual steps in the origin of life.

Charles Doolittle Walcott Medal Recipients: 1934-2007

John P. Grotzinger (2007)
For the insightful elucidation of ancient carbonates and the stromatolites they contain, and for meticulous field research that has established the timing of early animal evolution.

Hans J. Hofmann (2002)
For his pioneering discoveries of fossils that have illuminated life's early evolution, from Archean stromatolites and Proterozoic cyanobacteria, to the rise of multicellular organisms.

Mikhail A. Fedonkin (1997)
For his meticulous and insightful documentation of the body fossils, tracks, and trails that record the earliest evolution of animals.

Stefan Bengtson (1992)
For his leadership in studies of the enigmatic faunas of the Cambrian radiation, evidence for a major evolutionary event that his meticulous research has illuminated.

Andrew H. Knoll and Simon C. Morris (1987)
For their meticulous and insightful research on plant evolution from its microbial roots to vascularization, especially during the transition from Proterozoic to Phanerozoic.

Martin F. Glaessner (1982)
For his perceptive, worldwide biological and paleoecological analyses of the earliest Metazoa, which have extended over a quarter century and have illuminated the beginnings of Phanerozoic evolution.

Preston Cloud (1977)
In recognition of eminence and distinguished achievement in the advancement of sciences in pre-Cambrian paleontology and the early history of life on the primitive earth.

Elso S. Barghoorn (1972)
For his outstanding contributions in pre-Cambrian paleobiology.

Allison R. Palmer (1967)
For his research in pre-Cambrian or Cambrian life, in recognition of his eminence as a specialist in the studies of the Cambrian.

Armin A. Opik (1962)
For his contributions to Cambrian geology and paleontology.

Pierre Hupe (1957)
For his monumental work entitiled Contribution a l'etude du Cambrien inferieur et du Precambrien III de l'Antiatlas marocain.

Franco Rasetti (1952)
For his contributions to Cambrian paleontology.

Alexander G. Vologdin (1947)
For his studies of Pre-Cambrian and Cambrian algae and his researches on the Archaeocyatha, a distinctive group of Cambrian organisms.

A. H. Westergaard (1939)
For researches on the stratigraphy and paleontology of the Cambrian formations of Sweden.

David L. White (1934)


Powered by Convio
nonprofit software