Header J. C. Hunsaker Award in Aeronautical Engineering

The J.C. Hunsaker Award in Aeronautical Engineering will be presented in 2015.

Awarded for excellence in the field of aeronautical engineering. Established by Professor and Mrs. Jerome C. Hunsaker. The recipients is awarded a $50,000 prize.


Norman R. Augustine (2010)
For his service to the nation as a dedicated aeronautical engineer, a leader in the aerospace defense industry, a public servant, a civic leader, and a thought leader in the engineering profession.

Elbert L. Rutan (2005)
For leadership in engineering design and construction of SpaceShipOne, Voyager, and other successful experimental aircraft.

Richard T. Whitcomb (2000)
For his pioneering contributions to the aerodynamic design of high performance aircraft.

William R. Sears (1995)
For his significant and enduring contributions to education, aerodynamics, and aircraft design, including the optimal Sears-Haack body and the original Northrop flying wing.

Robert T. Jones (1990)
For his major contributions to aeronautics, including his supersonic area rule, discovery of the value of wing sweep in attaining supersonic flight, and application of the Heaviside Calculus to flight dynamics.

Thornton A. Wilson (1985)
For his bold and farsighted leadership, which has enabled this nation to maintain and enhance its preeminence in commercial aircraft.

James S. McDonnell (1980)
For his distinguished and pioneering contributions in engineering design and development of advanced military and commercial aircraft.

Donald Wills Douglas, Sr. (1973)
For his vast contribution to the aviation world.

Leroy Randle Grumman (1968)
For his long continued contributions to aeronautical engineering.


Powered by Convio
nonprofit software