2013 Nobel Prizes Announced

Congratulations to the National Academy of Sciences members and award recipients who are among this year's Nobel laureates:

Nobel Prize in Chemistry

For the development of multiscale models for complex chemical systems (pictured left to right)

Martin Karplus, Harvard University 
» NAS member, elected 1967
Michael Levitt, Stanford University School of Medicine
» NAS member, elected 2002
Arieh Warshel, University of  Southern California
» NAS member, elected 2009

Read More (Nobelprize.org web site)


Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

For their discoveries of machinery regulating vesicle traffic, a major transport system in our cells (pictured left to right)

James E. Rothman, Yale University
» NAS member, elected 1993
» Richard Lounsbery Award, 1997
Randy W. Schekman, University of California, Berkeley
» NAS member, elected 1992
Thomas C. Südhof, Stanford University
» NAS member, elected 2002
» NAS Award in Molecular Biology, 1997

Read More (Nobelprize.org web site)


Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel

For the empirical analysis of asset prices

Lars Peter Hansen, University of Chicago
» NAS member, elected 1999

Read More (Nobelprize.org web site)


Photo credits: Martin Karplus, Harvard University © N. Pitt; Michael Levitt, © Stanford University; James Rothman, © Yale University; Thomas C. Südhof, © S. Fisch; Lars Peter Hansen, Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License



Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software