All Medals banner small

All Medals banner small

Since 1886, the National Academy of Sciences has honored outstanding achievement in the physical, biological, and social sciences through its awards program.


  • 2020 Awards Announced
    We're pleased to announce the 2020 Awards! The nomination period will open in May and close at 11:59 PM on Monday, October 7, 2019. 
  • Agnes Matilda Kalibata Honored with 2019 NAS Public Welfare Medal
    The Academy is presenting its 2019 Public Welfare Medal to agricultural scientist, policymaker, and visionary leader Agnes Matilda Kalibata "for her work to drive Africa’s agricultural transformation through modern science and effective policy."

Featured Award

The inaugural Maryam Mirzakhani Prize in Mathematics will be presented to recognize exceptional contributions to the mathematical sciences by a mid-career mathematician. The newly named Mirzakhani Prize (formerly the NAS Award in Mathematics) will be presented biennially and carries a $20,000 prize. 

In July 2017, the field of mathematics and the world as a whole lost one of its brightest and most promising minds with the passing of Maryam Mirzakhani at the age of 40. Dr. Mirzakhani was an Iranian mathematician, professor at Stanford University, and member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences. She was the first woman to win the Fields Medal, the most prestigious award in mathematics, often equated in stature with the Nobel Prize. In recognition of Dr. Mirzakhani’s remarkable life and achievements the National Academy of Sciences established the newly named Maryam Mirzakhani Prize in Mathematics, to be presented in 2020. 

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software