Roemmich, Dean 2018 Alexander Agassiz Medal

Roemmich, Dean 2018 Alexander Agassiz Medal

Join us in congratulating Dean Roemmich!

Dean Roemmich, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California, San Diego, received the 2018 Alexander Agassiz Medal.

Roemmich helped conceive, then led and developed international scientific support for the Argo Program, an array of nearly 4,000 floating sensors collecting information on the circulation, salinity, density and climate variability of the world’s oceans from the sea surface to a depth of 2,000 meters. More than 30 nations and hundreds of researchers currently participate and cooperate with the program, which has been called one of the scientific triumphs of oceanography. The data collected by these probes and made freely available have transformed our understanding of the ocean’s roles in climate variability and change over a broad range of space- and time-scales. Argo has enabled comprehensive studies of the mean ocean circulation, the oceanic seasonal cycle, interannual ocean/atmosphere phenomena such as El Ni┼ło, and long-term trends including heat gain by the global ocean. All of these topics are foci of Roemmich’s research contributions.

Prior to Argo, Roemmich was already a pioneering oceanographer whose studies covered the large-scale circulation of the oceans by combining hydrology and satellite altimetry. These studies, which examined the heat budget of the ocean and required the development of new types of probes and new observing networks, set the stage for the work currently being done by the Argo Program.

Among Roemmich’s other accomplishments, he also served as a Lead Author for the 5th Assessment Report of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC).

The Alexander Agassiz Medal is presented every five years and honors original contributions in the science of oceanography. The award is presented with a medal and a $20,000 prize.

Please use the following sample social media posts and other materials to congratulate Dean Roemmich.

Facebook - copy the text and click on the Facebook button to share

 Watch Dean Roemmich of @Scripps_Ocean receive @theNASciences Alexander Agassiz Medal at #NAS155! He is receiving the 2018 Agassiz Medal for his leadership in understanding the ocean’s roles in climate variability and change. The award in #oceanography will be presented during the 155th NAS Annual Meeting on Sunday, April 29.

Twitter - click on the Twitter button to share your favorite message

Congratulations Dean Roemmich of @Scripps_Ocean, recipient of 2018 @theNASciences Alexander Agassiz Medal for leadership in #OceanResearch!

 Dean Roemmich of @Scripps_Ocean earns @theNASciences Alexander Agassiz Medal for researching the ocean and climate change. #oceanography

Watch Dean Roemmich of @Scripps_Ocean receive @theNASciences Alexander Agassiz Medal at #NAS155! He is a leader in #OceanResearch.

Graphics - save the image to accompany your post


Roemmich's Acceptance Speech »

Press Release »

Alexander Agassiz Medal »

2018 NAS Award Recipients »

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software