All Medals banner small

All Medals banner small

The following awards are scheduled for presentation in 2021, recipients will be announced in January. To get awards news straight to your inbox, make sure to sign up for our Connect with Awards newsletter.

Arctowski Medal (solar physics)

Gilbert Morgan Smith Medal (marine or freshwater algae)

Henry Draper Medal (astronomical physics)

J. Lawrence Smith Medal (investigations of meteoric bodies)

James Prize in Science and Technology Integration (inaugural presentation)

Michael and Sheila Held Prize (computer science, specifically combinatorial/discrete optimization)

NAS Award for Chemistry in Service to Society

NAS Award for Scientific Discovery (2021 fields: astronomy, materials science, or physics)

NAS Award in Chemical Sciences

NAS Award in Molecular Biology (young investigator)

NAS Award in the Evolution of Earth and Life- Mary Clark Thompson Medal (geology and paleontology)

NAS Prize in Food and Agriculture Sciences

NAS Public Welfare Medal

Pradel Research Award (neuroscience; mid-career neuroscientists)

Richard Lounsbery Award (biology and medicine)

Selman A. Waksman Award in Microbiology

Troland Research Awards (psychology; early-career researchers)

William and Katherine Estes Award (behavioral research relevant to prevention of nuclear war)

Questions? Contact us at

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software