2024 Awards Banner

2024 Awards Banner

Nominations for the awards listed below will be accepted through Monday, October 2, 2023. Nominations must be submitted online here. The Academy's Award Program recognizes outstanding contributions to science and encourages innovative research. Unless otherwise specified, preference will be given to early-career scientists and those whose work hasn’t been recognized by other large prizes or awards.

To get awards news straight to your inbox, make sure to sign up for our Connect with Awards newsletter.

Atkinson Prize in Psychological and Cognitive Sciences

Comstock Prize in Physics

G. K. Warren Prize (fluviatile geology)

Gilbert Morgan Smith Medal (marine or freshwater algae)

J. Lawrence Smith Medal (investigations of meteoric bodies)

James Craig Watson Medal (astronomy)

Jessie Stevenson Kovalenko Medal (medical sciences) 

John J. Carty Award for the Advancement of Science (climate) 

Maryam Mirzakhani Prize in Mathematics

Michael and Sheila Held Prize (computer science, specifically combinatorial/discrete optimization)

NAS Award in Chemical Sciences

NAS Award in Molecular Biology (young investigator)

NAS Award in the Evolution of Earth and Life- Daniel Giraud Elliot Medal (zoology or paleontology)

NAS Prize in Food and Agriculture Sciences

NAS Public Welfare Medal

Pradel Research Award (neuroscience; mid-career neuroscientists)

Troland Research Awards (neuroscience, psychology; early-career researchers)

Questions? Contact us at awards@nas.edu.

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software