All Medals banner small

All Medals banner small

Since 1886, the National Academy of Sciences has honored outstanding achievement in the physical, biological, and social sciences through its awards program.


  • 2021 Award Nominations 
    We are now accepting nominations for the 2021 Awards! Awards will be presented in a variety of fields including geology, computer science, medical sciences, astronomy, and many more. Nominations can be submitted here. More information on how to submit a nomination, including FAQs, can be found here

  • 2020 NAS Election
    Previous award recipients Elizabeth Ainsworth, Silvia Arber, Anna K. Behrensmeyer, Howard Y. Chang, and Kathleen Hall Jamieson were elected into the National Academy of Sciences in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.
  • Interview with Jennifer Doudna
    In the new issue of Issues in Science & Technology, the 2018 NAS Award in Chemical Sciences recipient and NAS/NAM member Jennifer Doudna, a co-discoverer of the CRISPR/Cas9 gene-editing technology, looks back on the dramatic events that took place a little over a year ago at our Second International Summit on Human Genome Editing, where Chinese scientist He Jiankui stunned the world by presenting how he had used CRISPR to edit the early embryos of recently born twin girls in what he said was an effort to prevent them from contracting HIV. Doudna was interviewed by Bill Kearney, executive director of ONPI and Issues editor. Read the interview.

To get awards news straight to your inbox, make sure to sign up for our Connect with Awards newsletter.

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software