Header Daniel Giraud Elliot Medal

Header Daniel Giraud Elliot Medal

Scheduled for presentation in 2018. Nominations accepted online through Monday, October 2, 2017.

About the Daniel Giraud Elliot Medal

Awarded for meritorious work in zoology or paleontology published in a three- to five-year period. Established through the Daniel Giraud Elliot Fund by gift of Miss Margaret Henderson Elliot.

Most Recent Recipient

Jonathan B. Losos from Harvard University is the most recent winner of the Daniel Giraud Elliot Medal. Losos was recognized in 2012 for his novel and penetrating studies of adaptive radiation in vertebrates, notably his comprehensive study of Anolis lizards in tropical America, as summarized in his book, Lizards in an Evolutionary Tree: Ecology and Adaptive Radiation of Anoles.

Award History

First awarded in 1917 to Frank M. Chapman, the Daniel Giraud Elliot Medal has recognized the most prestigious zoologists and paleontologists over the past 90 years. One recipient has proceeded to win a National Medal of Science in Biological Sciences (George Simpson, 1965) and another recipient later received a Nobel Prize in Chemistry (John Northrop, 1946). 


Jonathan B. Losos (2012)
For his novel and penetrating studies of adaptive radiation in vertebrates, notably his comprehensive study of Anolis lizards in tropical America, as summarized in his recent book, Lizards in an Evolutionary Tree: Ecology and Adaptive Radiation of Anoles.

Jennifer A. Clack (2008)
For studies of the first terrestrial vertebrates and the water-to-land transition, as illuminated in her book Gaining Ground.

Rudolf A. Raff (2004)
For creative accomplishments in research, teaching, and writing (especially The Shape of Life) that led to the establishment of a new field, evolutionary developmental biology. 

Geerat J. Vermeij (2000)
For his extracting major generalizations about biological evolution from the fossil record, by feeling details of shell anatomy that other scientists only see.

John Terborgh (1996)
For his research on the ecology, sociobiology, biodiversity, and plant phenology of the tropics, and for his 1992 book, Diversity and the Tropical Rain Forest.

George C. Williams (1992)
For his seminal contributions to current evolutionary thought, including the importance of natural selection and adaptation, and the understanding of sexual reproduction, social behavior, senescence, and disease.

Jon Edward Ahlquist and Charles G. Sibley (1988)
For their application of DNA hybridization techniques to bird classification which revolutionized taxonomy by showing at last how to distinguish evolutionary relationships from convergent similarities.

G. Evelyn Hutchinson (1984)
For his work as a limologist, biochemist, ecologist, evolutionist, art historian, ranking among our zoological giants.

G. Arthur Cooper and Richard E. Grant (1979)
For the six-volume treatise on the taxonomy, paleoecology, and evolutionary significance of the West Texas permian brachiopods.

Howard E. Evans (1976)
For his work over a 25-year span on the biology and evolution of behavior in wasps.

Richard Alexander (1971)
For his outstanding fundamental work on the systematic, evolution, and behavior of crickets.

Ernst Mayr (1967)
For his treatise, "Animal Species and Evolution".

George G. Simpson (1965)
For his treatise, "Principles of Animal Taxonomy."

Donald R. Griffin (1958)

P. Jackson Darlington, Jr. (1957)
For his work on Zoogeography: The Geographical Distribution of Animals was the most meritorious work in zoology published during the year.

Alfred S. Romer (1956)

Herbert Friedmann (1955)
For his book, The Honey Guides. Dr. Friedman's studies of this little-known african bird clarified several puzzling problems concerning it.

Sven P. Ekman (1953)

Archie Fairly Carr (1952)

Libbie H. Hyman (1951)

Raymond Carroll Osburn (1950)
In recognition of his studies of Bryozoa, particularly for the volume on Bryozoa of the Pacific Coast of America, part 1, published by the University of Southern California.

Arthur Cleveland Bent (1949)
For the 17th volume in his series on the Life Histories of the North American Birds, published by the United States National Museum.

Henry B. Bigelow (1948)
For his contributions to marine zoology, particularly for his part as senior author in the volume Fishes of the Western North Atlantic.

John T. Patterson (1947)

Robert Broom (1946)
For his volume, The South Africa Fossil Ape-Men, The Australopithecinae, which was published on January 31, 1946, by the Transvaal Museum in Pretoria.

Sewall Wright (1945)
For his fundamental work dealing with the genetics of evolutionary processes--a program based on work over a long period, including his paper "The Differential Equation of the Distribution of Gene Frequencies."

George G. Simpson (1944)
For his work, Tempo and Mode in Evolution, Columbia University Press, 1944.

Karl S. Lashley (1943)
For his work, "Studies of Cerebral Function in Learning," Journal of Comparative Neurology, 1943, volume 79.

D'arcy Thompson (1942)
For his work, On Growth and Form, revised and enlarged, 1942.

Theodosius Dobzhansky (1941)
For his work, Genetics and the Origin of Species, second edition published in 1941.

William B. Scott (1940)
For his work, The Mammalian Fauna of the White River Oligocene. Part IV. Artiodactyia.

John H. Northrop (1939)
For his work, Crystalline Enzymes: The Chemistry of Pepsin, Trypsin, and Bacteriophage.

M. R. Irwin (1938)
For his work, Immunogenetic Studies of Species Relationships in Columbidae.

George Howard Parker (1937)
For his work "Do Melanophore Nerves Show Antidromic Responses?" Journal of General Physiology, volume 20, July 1937.

Robert C. Murphy (1936)

Edwin H. Colbert (1935)

Theophilus S. Painter (1934)

Richard Swann Lull (1933)

James P. Chapin (1932)
For his work entitled, The Birds of the Belgian Congo, Part I, published as a bulletin of the American Museum of Natural History in 1932.

Davidson Black (1931)

George E. Coghill (1930)
For his work entitled Correlated Anatomical and Physiological Studies of the Growth of the Nervous System of Amphibia.

Henry F. Osborn (1929)

Ernest Thompson Seton (1928)
For his work, Lives of Game Animals, Volume 4.

Erik A. Stenio (1926)
For his work, The Downtonian and Devonian Vertebrates of Spitzbergen, Part I.

Edmund B. Wilson (1925)
For his volume, The Cell in Development and Heredity.

Henri Breuil (1924)

Ferdinand Canu (1923)
For his work, North American Later Tertiary and Quaternary Bryozoa.

William M. Wheeler (1922)
For his work in entomology, Ants of the American Museum Congo Expedition.

Bashford Dean (1921)
For his volume in ichthyology, Bibliography of Fishes.

Othenio Abel (1920)

Robert Ridgway (1919)
For his classic work, Birds of North and Middle America.

William Beebe (1918)

Frank M. Chapman (1917)

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software