Established in 1914, the Public Welfare Medal honors extraordinary use of science for the public good. Recipients include Ismail Serageldin, Norman Borlaug, William T. Golden, and Carl Sagan.

Harold T. Shapiro

2012 Public Welfare Medal

Harold T. Shapiro, an economist lauded for his ability to distill, debate, and resolve the complex aspects of controversial scientific issues, received the Public Welfare Medal on April 30, 2012 during the Academy's 149th annual meeting.


For his leadership in profoundly influencing American science, helping the government, the scientific community, and the public to address some of the most complex and contentious scientific and ethical issues of our time.

Acceptance Speech: April 30, 2012
Celebrating and Sustaining Trust in the Scientific Enterprise








Related Links:

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software