Established in 1914, the Public Welfare Medal honors extraordinary use of science for the public good. Recipients include Ismail Serageldin, Norman Borlaug, William T. Golden, and Carl Sagan.

Ismail Serageldin

2011 Public Welfare Medal

Ismail Serageldin was awarded the Public Welfare Medal on May 1, 2011 "for outstanding leadership in promoting the use of science for sustainable development and for liberating minds from the tyranny of intolerance, bigotry, and fear, thereby opening doors to free inquiry, tolerance, and imagination." Watch the video of the acceptance speech.

Related Links:

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software