Nominations are now being accepted for the NAS Awards below. Unless otherwise specified, preference will be given to early-career scientists and those whose work hasn’t been recognized by other large prizes or awards. Please note that the nomination requirements and conflict of interest policies have changed.

2025 Awards Call for Nominations

Alexander Hollaender Award in Biophysics

Arctowski Medal (solar physics)

Henry Draper Medal (astronomical physics)

James Prize in Science and Technology Integration

Michael and Sheila Held Prize (computer science, specifically combinatorial/discrete optimization)

NAS Award for Chemistry in Service to Society (academia, government, and non-profit organizations)

NAS Award for Scientific Discovery (astronomy, materials science, or physics)

NAS Award in Early Earth and Life Studies- Stanley Miller Medal

NAS Award in Chemical Sciences

NAS Award in Molecular Biology (young investigator)

NAS Award in the Neurosciences

NAS Prize in Food and Agriculture Sciences

NAS Public Welfare Medal

Pradel Research Award (neuroscience)

Richard Lounsbery Award (young investigator)

Selman A. Waksman Award in Microbiology

Troland Research Awards (early-career researchers)


Since 1886, the National Academy of Sciences has honored more than 1,000 individuals in the physical, biological, and social sciences through its awards program.