Dr. Bruce Stillman is President & Chief Executive Officer of Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory (CSHL). A native of Australia, he graduated from The University of Sydney and the Australian National University. He moved to CSHL as a Postdoctoral Fellow in 1979 and has been at the Laboratory ever since. Dr. Stillman was Director of the CSHL Cancer Center from 1992 – 2016. In 1994, he was appointed Director of CSHL and was appointed President in 2003. Dr. Stillman’s research focuses on the mechanism and regulation of duplication of DNA and chromatin in cells. He was elected to The Royal Society, the National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Science and the Australian Academy of Science. Dr. Stillman has received the Alfred P. Sloan Prize, the Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize from Columbia University, the Herbert Tabor Research Award from the American Society of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, the Canada Gairdner International Award and the Dr H.P. Heineken Prize for Biochemistry and Biophysics from the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences. He is an advisor to universities, foundations, corporations and government agencies.

Research Interests

Stillman studies the mechanism and regulation of chromosome duplication, including the processes of initiation of DNA replication in yeast and human cells and of chromatin inheritance. These studies include differences between genome duplication in normal and cancer cells.

Membership Type


Election Year


Primary Section

Section 21: Biochemistry

Secondary Section

Section 22: Cellular and Developmental Biology