Kirk Bryan Jr., NOAA Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory and Princeton University, received the 2023 Alexander Agassiz Medal.

Bryan’s research with ocean and climate models has advanced the frontiers of understanding of the ocean’s role in Earth’s climate.

Over his career, Bryan’s work has aimed to improve our understanding of ocean sciences. His work established the foundations for numerical modeling in ocean and climate science, providing insights into how the ocean works, focusing particular attention on the ocean’s role in the earth climate system and its anthropogenically induced changes. 

Bryan’s research, through his own contributions and those of his students and collaborators, has enormously influenced ocean and climate scientists worldwide.

The Alexander Agassiz Medal is presented every five years and honors original contributions in the science of oceanography. The award is presented with a medal and a $20,000 prize.


Press Release »

Alexander Agassiz Medal »

2023 NAS Award Recipients »

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software