Krzysztof Matyjaszewski, Carnegie Mellon University, received the 2023 NAS Award in Chemical Sciences.

Matyjaszewski has made transformative contributions to polymer chemistry. His novel method of polymer synthesis has shaped the field and can be used to produce a wide range of polymers, copolymers, and hybrid materials with a wide range of commercial, biomedical, and environmental applications. 

Matyjaszewski is globally recognized for his atom transfer radical polymerization (ATRP) technique, which can be used to form polymers via radical mechanisms with unprecedented control of molecular weight and molecular architecture. Matyjaszewski and his group continue to innovate and develop new technologies through research on controlled radical polymerization, bioconjugates, hybrid materials, and catalysis. 

Throughout his career, Matyjaszewski has also served as a scientific leader and inspiration to others as a mentor, author, and inventor.  

The NAS Award in Chemical Sciences is presented annually to honor innovative research in the chemical sciences that contributes to a better understanding of the natural sciences and to the benefit of humanity. The NAS Award in Chemical Sciences was established in 1978 and supported by Occidental Petroleum Corporation from 1978 to 1996. The Merck Company Foundation assumed sponsorship in 1999. The award is presented with a medal and a $15,000 prize.


Press Release »

NAS Award in Chemical Sciences »

2023 NAS Award Recipients »

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software