Established in 1914, the Public Welfare Medal honors extraordinary use of science for the public good. Recipients include Ismail Serageldin, Norman Borlaug, William T. Golden, and Carl Sagan.

Bill and Melinda Gates

2013 Public Welfare Medal

Bill and Melinda Gates were awarded the Public Welfare Medal on April 28, 2013 "for their leadership in applying science and innovation to some of the world’s most difficult challenges in health, development, and education, thereby improving the lives of millions and changing the trajectory of global health."

Related Links:

Watch the video of the April 28 medal presentation and acceptance speeches.

NAS President Ralph Cicerone introduces Bill and Melinda Gates, recipients of the 2013 NAS Public Welfare Medal.

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software