Science Explained

Science Explained

Connect with Awards

Join the awards mailing list to receive updates including news, nomination details, and deadlines.

NAS Awards: The Science Explained 

The National Academy of Sciences’ Awards Program is dedicated to honoring extraordinary scientific achievements in a wide range of fields and has honored over 950 distinguished scholars engaged in scientific and engineering research. 

The 2022 NAS Awards' recipients provided a detailed account explaining the science behind their awards. To hear more, please click on a recipient’s work below.

Wolfgang Baumeister, Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, for his pioneering work in electron microscopy to advance structural cell biology

Mahzarin Rustum Banaji, Harvard University, for groundbreaking contributions to understanding implicit social cognition.

Dan Jurafsky, Stanford University, for landmark contributions to computational linguistics and the sociology of language

Samuel Harvey Moseley, Jr., Quantum Circuits Inc., for his seminal work designing and developing technologies and instruments to advance astronomy

John A. Rogers, Northwestern University, for pioneering bio-integrated technologies to advance biomedical research and clinical health care

Katalin Karikó and Drew Weissman, University of Pennsylvania, for pioneering work in mRNA technology and vaccine development

Barney S. Graham, formerly with the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases Vaccine Research Center at the National Institutes of Health, for pioneering new strategies in vaccine design using nanoparticle and mRNA technologies

Camillo De Lellis, Institute for Advanced Study, for innovative contributions to the study of Euler equations and concept of convex integration

Amit Sahai, University of California, Los Angeles, for his pioneering work on cryptographic software obfuscations and its theoretical applications

Esther S. Takeuchi, Stony Brook University and Brookhaven National Laboratory, for breakthrough contributions to our understanding of electrochemical energy.

Mary L. Droser, University of California, Riverside, for her prominent role in advancing understanding of the Ediacaran and Paleozoic life and environment

Carrie Partch, University of California, Santa Cruz, for her contributions to the molecular understanding of circadian rhythms

Nancy Kanwisher, Massachusetts Institute of Technology McGovern Institute for Brain Research, for pioneering research that provides insight into the functional organization of the human brain

David Lobell, Stanford University, for groundbreaking research to address challenges in agriculture and the environment

Edward Chang, University of California, San Francisco, for scientific advances that have deepened our mechanistic understanding of speech perception and production

Leah Somerville, Harvard University,  for her pioneering research on how brain and psychological development are intertwined during adolescence. 

The recipients were honored in a ceremony during the National Academy of Sciences' 159th annual meeting.

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software