Deane Montgomery

Institute for Advanced Study

September 2, 1909 - March 15, 1992

Scientific Discipline: Mathematics
Membership Type:
Member (elected 1955)

Mathematician Deane Montgomery made significant contributions to the field of topology. He is widely recognized for his role in the solution of Hilbert’s Fifth Problem, originally posed in 1900, and for his work with new techniques in differential topology. In 1988 he received the Leroy P. Steele Prize for Lifetime Achievement from the American Mathematical Society.

Montgomery earned his master’s degree and PhD from the University of Iowa, after graduating from Hamline University in Minnesota. After several years at Smith College and at Yale, he joined the faculty at the Institute for Advanced Study at Princeton University, accepting a permanent position there in 1951. He was president of the International Mathematical Union from 1974 to 1978 and president of the American Mathematical Society in 1961-1962.

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software