Our mission is to provide leadership in science for the nation and the world by:

Recognizing and elevating the best science, and fostering its broad understanding.

Producing and promoting adoption of independent, authoritative, trusted scientific advice for the benefit of society.


The National Academy of Sciences is governed by a 17-member Council elected from among the Academy membership.


The NAS was established in 1863 as a private, nongovernmental institution. The National Academy of Engineering was established in 1964 and the National Academy of Medicine (formerly the Institute of Medicine) in 1970, both under under the NAS charter. The NAS established the National Research Council in 1916 to broaden the range of disciplines necessary for its advisory role. The Academies work together as the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine.


Most of our meetings and events are held in Washington, DC and Irvine, CA.

National Academy of Sciences Building

2101 Constitution Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20418

Keck Center

500 Fifth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20001

Arnold and Mabel Beckman Center

100 Academy
Irvine, CA 92617


Join us and let your talents make a difference. Learn more about career opportunities at the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine.


Frequently Asked Questions

Get answers to many of the questions asked about the National Academy of Sciences.