Daron Acemoglu

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Election Year: 2014
Primary Section: 54, Economic Sciences
Membership Type: Member


Daron Acemoglu is Elizabeth and James Killian Professor of Economics in the Department of Economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He has received a BA in economics at the University of York, 1989, MSc in mathematical economics and econometrics at the London School of Economics, 1990, and PhD in economics at the London School of Economics in 1992. He was the recipient of the John Bates Clark Medal in 2005, awarded every two years to the best economist in the United States under the age of 40 by the American Economic Association, and the Erwin Plein Nemmers prize awarded every two years for work of lasting significance in economics. He holds Honorary Doctorates from the University of Utrecht, Bosporus University, and the University of Athens.

Research Interests

Daron Acemoglu’s areas of research include political economy, economic development and growth, human capital theory, growth theory, innovation, search theory, network economics and learning. His recent research focuses on the political, economic and social causes of differences in economic development across societies; the factors affecting the institutional and political evolution of nations; and how technology impacts growth and distribution of resources and is itself determined by economic and social incentives. In addition to scholarly articles, Daron Acemoglu has published four books: "Economic Origins of Dictatorship and Democracy" (joint with James A. Robinson), which was awarded the Woodrow Wilson and the William Riker prizes, "Introduction to Modern Economic Growth", "Why Nations Fail: The Origins of Power, Prosperity, and Poverty" (joint with James A. Robinson), which was a New York Times bestseller in 2012; and "Principles of Economics" (joint with David Laibson and John List).

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software