2012 Nobel Prizes Announced

Congratulations to the National Academy of Sciences members and foreign associates who are among this year's Nobel laureates:

Nobel Prize in Chemistry

For studies of G-protein-coupled receptors

Robert J. Lefkowitz (NAS member, elected 1988)
Duke University Medical Center
Brian K. Kobilka (NAS member, elected 2011)
Stanford University School of Medicine
» Read More (Nobelprize.org web site)


Nobel Prize in Physics

For ground-breaking experimental methods that enable measuring and manipulation of individual quantum systems

Serge Haroche (NAS foreign associate, elected 2010)
Laboratorie Kastler Brossel, College de France
David J. Wineland (NAS member, elected 1992)
National Institute of Standards and Technology 
» Read More (Nobelprize.org web site)


Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

For the discovery that mature cells can be reprogrammed to become pluripotent

John B. Gurdon (NAS foreign associate, elected 1980)
University of Cambridge
Shinya Yamanaka (NAS foreign associate, elected 2011)
Kyoto University
» Read More (Nobelprize.org web site)


Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel

For the theory of stable allocations and the practice of market design

Lloyd S. Shapley (NAS member, elected 1979)
University of California, Los Angeles
Shared with Alvin E. Roth, Harvard University

» Read More (Nobelprize.org web site)

Photo credits: Serge Haroche, CNRS; Robert J. Lefkowitz, HHMI, David J. Wineland, NIST, Lloyd Shapley, UCLA



Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software