News from the National Academy of Sciences

February 13, 2019

National Academy of Sciences Elects Home Secretary and Councilors

WASHINGTON—The National Academy of Sciences has elected a home secretary and four members to serve on its governing Council.

Susan R. Wessler, distinguished professor of genetics and Neil and Rochelle Campbell Presidential Chair for Innovation in Science Education, University of California, Riverside, has been re-elected as home secretary. Wessler will continue to be responsible for the membership activities of the Academy during her third four-year term beginning July 1, 2019.

Councilors elected to three-year terms beginning July 1, 2019, are: Patricia Kuhl, co-director of the Institute for Learning and Brain Sciences and the Bezos Family Foundation Professor of Early Childhood Learning, University of Washington; Richard E. Lenski, John Hannah Professor of Microbial Ecology, Michigan State University; Sean C. Solomon, director, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, Columbia University; and Ruth J. Williams, distinguished professor of mathematics and Charles Lee Powell Chair in Mathematics I, University of California, San Diego. The new councilors succeed Susan G. Amara, Fred H. Gage, Evelyn L. Hu, and Laura L. Kiessling.

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. It recognizes achievement in science by election to membership, and—with the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Medicine—provides science, engineering, and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.

Molly Galvin, Director, Executive Communications
Office of News and Public Information
202-334-2138; e-mail: 
Twitter: @theNASciences

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software