News from the National Academy of Sciences

February 20, 2020


National Academy of Sciences Elects Treasurer and Councilors

WASHINGTON – The National Academy of Sciences has elected a treasurer and four members to serve on its governing Council.

William H. Press, Leslie Surginer Professor in the departments of computer science and integrative biology at The University of Texas at Austin, has been re-elected as treasurer. Press will continue to be responsible for the financial activities of the Academy during his second four-year term beginning July 1, 2020.

Councilors elected to three-year terms beginning July 1, 2020, are: Nancy C. Andrews, Professor of Pediatrics with Tenure and Professor of Pharmacology and Cancer Biology, Duke University School of Medicine and Nanaline H. Duke Endowed Chair, Duke University; Ruth S. DeFries, Denning University Professor of Sustainable Development, department of ecology, evolution and environmental biology and Chair of Earth Institute faculty, Columbia University; Joseph S. Francisco, President’s Distinguished Professor, University of Pennsylvania; and Gertrud M. Schüpbach, professor emerita in the department of molecular biology, Princeton University. The new councilors succeed Ingrid Daubechies, Susan T. Fiske, Eve Marder, and Thomas D. Pollard.

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. It recognizes achievement in science by election to membership, and — with the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Medicine — provides science, engineering, and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.

Molly Galvin, Director, Executive Communications
Office of News and Public Information
202-334-2138; e-mail: 
Twitter: @theNASciences

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software