News from the National Academy of Sciences

Feb. 27, 2014


National Academy of Sciences Elects Foreign Secretary and Councilors

WASHINGTON — The National Academy of Sciences has elected a foreign secretary and four members to serve on its governing Council.

John G. Hildebrand, Regents Professor of Neuroscience in the College of Science at the University of Arizona, Tucson, has been elected foreign secretary succeeding Michael T. Clegg.  Hildebrand will be responsible for the international activities of the Academy during his four-year term beginning July 1, 2014.

Councilors elected to three-year terms beginning July 1, 2014, are: Karen S. Cook, Ray Lyman Wilbur Professor of Sociology, Stanford University; Nancy A. Moran, professor, department of integrative biology, University of Texas, Austin; Margaret M. Murnane, fellow, JILA, and professor of physics, University Colorado, Boulder; and Randy Schekman, investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, and professor, department of molecular and cell biology, University of California, Berkeley. The new councilors succeed Carol A. Gross, Joyce Marcus, Douglas S. Massey, and Irving L. Weissman.

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. It recognizes achievement in science by election to membership, and — with the National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council — provides science, technology, and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.

Molly Galvin, Senior Media Relations Officer
Office of News and Public Information
202-334-2138; e-mail
Twitter: @NAS_news, @NASciences and @theNASciences
RSS feed:

#       #       #

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software