Kavli Frontiers of Science banner

Seventh German-American Symposium

Alexander von Humboldt Stiftung – U.S. National Academy of Sciences

June 8-10, 2001
Bad-Homburg, Germany


 Cosmic Microwave Background Anisotropy

Organizers: David Weinberg and Lutz Wisotzki

Chair: Matthias Bartelmann, Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik


Max Tegmark, University of Pennsylvania

Adrian Lee, University of California, Berkeley

 Femtochemistry - Watching Molecules in Reaction

Organizers: Martina Havenith-Newen and Cassandra L. Fraser

Chair: Charles A. Schmuttenmaer, Yale University


Martin Gruebele, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Regina de Vivie-Riedle, Max-Planck-Institut für Quantenoptik

 Learning and Memory

Organizers: Anna W. Roe and Stefan Rotter

Chair: Matthew A. Wilson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology


Martin Korte, Max-Planck-Institut für Neurobiologie

Craig C. Garner, University of Alabama

 Life in Extreme Environments

Organizers: Julio Fernandez and Martin Stute

Chair: Christopher P. McKay, NASA Ames Research Center


Warwick Vincent, Laval University

Andreas P. Teske, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

 Motor Proteins in Pathogen Adhesion and Infection

Organizers: Viola Vogel and Antonia Kesel

Chair: Jürgen Wehland, Gesellschaft für Biotechnologische Forschung, Braunschweig


Jorge E. Galan, Yale University School of Medicine

Greg Smith, Princeton University

 Quantum Information Processing

Organizers: Thomas Wienold and David Weinberg

Chair: Harald Weinfurter, University LMU München


Christopher Monroe, University of Michigan

Paul Kwiat, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

 Traffic Flow

Organizers: Alexander Soshnikov and Joachim Buhmann

Chair: Michael Schreckenberg, University Duisburg


Gunter Schuetz, Forschungszentrum Jülich

Walter Willinger, AT&T Labs Research

 Vegetation Dynamics

Organizers: Gerrit Lohmann and Martin Stute

Chair: Florian Jeltsch, University of Potsdam


Kevin L. Griffin, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory of Columbia University

Jonathan A. Foley, University of Wisconsin, Madison


Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software