Kavli Frontiers of Science banner

Eighth Chinese-American Symposium

Chinese Academy of Sciences - U.S. National Academy of Sciences

November 2-4, 2005
Xiamen, China



Organizers: Dora Kovacs and Tom Mistelli

Chair: Raymond J. Kelleher, MIT and Harvard Medical School


Andy Dillin, Salk Institute

Jiawei Zhou, Shanghai Institutes for Biological Sciences, Chinese Academy of Sciences

 Brain Imaging

Organizers: Zhang Yu and Raj Mohanty

Chair: Yan Zhuo, Institute of Biophysics, Chinese Academy of Sciences


Gina Kuperberg, Harvard Medical School, Massachusetts General Hospital

Li-Hai Tan, University of Hong Kong

 Carbon Cycle and Climate Change

Organizers: Kong Ping and Whitey Hagadorn

Chair: Xu Yongfu, Institute of Atmosphere Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Speaker: Dai Minhan, Xiamen University

 Large Scale Structure of the Universe

Organizers: Teviet Creighton and Zhang Shuangnun

Chair: Chung-Pei Ma, University of California, Berkeley


Joseph Mohr, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Junxian Wang, The University of Science and Technology of China

 Nanoscale Materials

Organizers: Fang Xiaohong and Angela Wilson

Chair: Zhen Yao, University of Texas-Austin


Yuliang Zhao, Institute of High Energy Physics, CAS

Hari Manoharan, Stanford University

 Origin of Language/Phylogenetics

Organizers: Tiffani Williams, Dora Kovacs, and Zhou Aihui

Chair: Zev Handel, University of Washington


Wang Feng, Peking University

Luay Nakhleh, Rice University

 Quantum Information

Organizers: Tiffani Williams, Raj Mohanty, and Wu Chenxu

Chair: Fei Xue, Institute of Theoretical Physics, CAS

Speaker: Pan Jian-wei, University of Science and Technology of China

 RNAi and Genome Defense

Organizers: Suzanne Rutherford and Wang Yizheng

Chair: Rodolfo Aramayo, Texas A&M University


Xiaofeng Cao, Institute of Genetics, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Bill Kelly, Emory University

The Chinese-American Frontiers of Science symposium series is sponsored by the U.S. National Academy of Sciences and the Chinese Academy of Sciences, and supported, in part, with funding from the Beckman Foundation, and the Agouron Institute.

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software