About the Award

The Alexander Hollaender Award in Biophysics is presented every three years and carries with it a $20,000 prize. The Award recognizes outstanding contributions made to the field of biophysics. Henrietta W. Hollaender established the Alexander Hollaender Award in Biophysics in honor of her husband, Alexander W. Hollaender, who brought to prominence the field of photobiology. With an interest in the lethal and mutagenic effects of monochromatic ultra-violet radiation on cells, Dr. Hollaender identified the first clear indication that changes in nucleic acids needed to be analyzed, rather than proteins. Nominations are being accepted now for the 2025 Award.

Wolfgang Baumeister, Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, received the 2022 Alexander Hollaender Award in Biophysics.

Baumeister is an innovator in the field of electron microscopy. He has pioneered the development of cryogenic electron tomography that has enabled him to apply transmission electron microscopy to several areas of great biological interest, obtaining images of complex macromolecular and supramolecular assemblies at unprecedented resolution.

2022 Alexander Hollaender Award in Biophysics, Baumeister Social

Baumeister’s work in electron cryotomography has made it possible to conduct high-resolution analyses of biological macromolecules in their native cellular environment. This work has included capturing crucial images of the proteasome and proteins involved in neurodegeneration. Beyond his contributions to technology development, Baumeister’s innovative applications of electron microscopy have led to extraordinary advances in our understanding of the molecular organization of cells and key organelles and continue to advance structural cell biology.

Watch Baumeister’s acceptance speech.

Award History

The Alexander Hollaender Award in Biophysics was first awarded in 1998 to Wayne A. Hendrickson for his contributions to macromolecular crystallography, specifically his development of robust methods of phasing and refinement, and determination of complex and biologically important structures. Hendrickson is best known for his work pioneering multi-wavelength anomalous diffraction (MAD) and its use as an analytical tool for protein crystallography.

Previous recipients of the Alexander Hollaender Award in Biophysics continue to achieve outstanding advancements in their fields. One recipient has received a Nobel Prize in Chemistry (Henderson, 2017).

Most Recent Recipient
Wolfgang Baumeister, 2022 Alexander Hollaender Award in Biophysics
Wolfgang Baumeister
Call for Nominations

Awards will be presented in a variety of fields including biophysics, astronomy, microbiology, medical sciences, and more.

Sign up for Newsletter

Join the awards mailing list to receive updates including news, nomination details, and deadlines.


* indicates required
Award Types

Previous Award Recipients

Jane S. Richardson
Richard Henderson
King-Wai Yau
Watt W. Webb
Barry H. Honig
Carlos J. Bustamante