DENNIS V. KENT (NAS) is Adjunct Senior Research Scientist at Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory of Columbia University and Board of Governors Professor Emeritus at Rutgers University. He is an author of more than 300 publications on paleogeography, paleoclimate and the long-term carbon cycle, polar wander, paleosecular variation, geomagnetic polarity reversals, and other aspects of Earth magnetism. He is a fellow of the Geological Society of America (GSA), American Geophysical Union (AGU), American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Dennis Kent was awarded the Arthur L. Day Medal from the GSA, the Vening Meinesz Medal from Delft University, the Petrus Peregrinus Medal from the European Geophysical Union, the William Gilbert Award from AGU, and received an honorary doctorate from the Sorbonne. He has served on the governing boards of the Joint Oceanographic Institutions and Integrated Ocean Drilling Program Management International; as elected president of the GPE Section of AGU and member-at-large of Section E of AAAS; and on the editorial advisory board of Earth and Planetary Science Letters. He received his B.S. in geology from the City College of New York and his Ph.D. in marine geology and geophysics from Columbia University.

Research Interests

Paleomagnetism, geomagnetism and rock magnetism and their application to geologic problems. Current interests include astrochronometric polarity time scales; paleogeography, paleoclimatology and the long-term carbon cycle; paleointensity of the time-averaged field; magnetic properties of sediments and polar ice.

Membership Type


Election Year


Primary Section

Section 15: Geology

Secondary Section

Section 16: Geophysics