Dr. Angelaki is the Wilhelmina Robertson Professor & Chair of the Department of Neuroscience, Baylor College of Medicine, with a joint appointment in the Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering, Rice University. She holds Diploma and PhD degrees in Electrical and Biomedical Engineering from the National Technical University of Athens and University of Minnesota. Her general area of interest is computational, cognitive and systems neuroscience. Within this broad field, she specializes in the neural mechanisms of spatial perception and spatial navigation. She is interested in neural coding and how complex, cognitive behavior is produced by neuronal populations. She has received the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers, the Halpike-Nylen medal from the Barany Society and the inaugural Pradel Award in Neuroscience from the National Academy of Sciences. She is the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Neuroscience and a fellow/member of both the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and National Academy of Sciences.

Membership Type


Election Year


Primary Section

Section 28: Systems Neuroscience

Secondary Section

Section 52: Psychological and Cognitive Sciences