President of Chinese Physical Society since 2019. Former President of Shanghai Jiao Tong University (2006-2017) and former Vice President of Chinese Academy of Sciences (2017-2018). Academician of Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) in 2003, German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina in 2005, Fellow of Third World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) in 2007, International Fellow of the British Royal Academy of Engineering (FREng) in 2011, Foreign Associate of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences (NAS) in 2013. Recipient of Edward Teller Medal by American Nuclear Society for his significant contribution in the field of Inertial Confinement Fusion and high energy density physics (2015).

Research Interests

He works on laser plasma physics and high energy density physics. He has made outstanding contributions to development of soft X-ray lasers, generation and propagation of hot electrons in laser plasmas in connection with inertial confinement fusion (ICF), and lab simulation of astrophysical processes with laser-produced plasmas.

Membership Type

International Member

Election Year


Primary Section

Section 33: Applied Physical Sciences

Secondary Section

Section 13: Physics