The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) announced today that 20 Kavli Frontiers of Science alumni have been elected to membership in the NAS in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

In 2024, the NAS elected a total of 120 members and 24 international members covering all fields of science, bringing its total membership to 2,617 active members and 537 international members. The Frontiers alumni elected today bring the total number of Kavli Frontiers of Science alumni to 337 members – 10.6% of the NAS membership.

Newly elected Frontiers alumni and their affiliations at the time of election to the National Academy of Sciences are:

Aharonov, Dorit; professor, Department of Computer Science and Engineering, Hebrew University, Jerusalem, Israel

Bao, Zhenan; K.K. Lee Professor and, by courtesy, professor of chemistry and professor of materials science and engineering, Department of Chemical Engineering, Stanford University, Stanford, Calif.

Darwin, Heran; professor, Department of Microbiology, New York University School of Medicine, New York City

Fleming, Bonnie; deputy director for science and technology and chief research officer, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory; and professor, Enrico Fermi Institute, University of Chicago; Batavia, Ill.

Hobert, Oliver; investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; and full professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics, Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons, New York City

Indyk, Piotr; Thomas D. and Virginia W. Cabot Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge

Kanatzidis, Mercouri G.; senior scientist, Argonne National Laboratory; and Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor of Chemistry, Department of Chemistry, Northwestern University, Evanston, Ill.

Lagarias, Jeffrey C.; Harold Mead Stark Distinguished University Professor of Mathematics, Department of Mathematics, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Muir, Tom W.; Van Zandt Williams Jr. Class of ’65 Professor of Chemistry, Department of Chemistry, Princeton University, Princeton, N.J.

Nozaki, Kyoko; professor, department of chemistry and biotechnology, School of Engineering, The University of Tokyo (Japan)

Patel, Nipam H.; professor of organismal biology and anatomy, University of Chicago; and director, Marine Biological Laboratory, Woods Hole, Mass.

Pearson, Ann; Murray and Martha Ross Professor of Environmental Sciences and chair, Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences, Harvard University, Cambridge, Mass.

Purugganan, Michael D.; Silver Professor, Department of Biology, New York University, New York City

Raymond, Jennifer L.; Berthold and Belle N. Guggenhime Professor, Department of Neurobiology, Stanford University, Stanford, Calif.

Ryan, Timothy A.; Janelia Senior Fellow, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; and professor and Tri-Institutional Professor, Department of Biochemistry, Weill Cornell Medical College, New York City

Sandweiss, Daniel H.; professor of anthropology and quaternary and climate studies, Department of Anthropology, University of Maine, Orono

Strogatz, Steven H.; professor and Susan and Barton Winokur Distinguished Professor for the Public Understanding of Science and Mathematics, Department of Mathematics, Cornell University, Ithaca, N.Y.

Todadri, Senthil; professor of physics, Department of Physics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge

Tung, Jenny; professor of evolutionary anthropology, Duke University; and director, Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology, Leipzig, Germany

Turro, Claudia; professor and chair, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, The Ohio State University, Columbus

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. It recognizes achievement in science by election to membership, and—with the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Medicine—provides science, engineering, and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.