About the Award

The Pradel Research Award is presented annually to recognize mid-career neuroscientists whose work is making major contributions to our understanding of the nervous system. The award is presented with a $50,000 research award to designate to an institution of the recipient’s choice to support neuroscience research. Nominations are being accepted now for the 2025 Award.

Paola Arlotta, Harvard University, received the 2024 Pradel Research Award.

Arlotta’s innovative work provides key insights into the fundamental principles that guide development of the cerebral cortex, the portion of the brain responsible for cognition.

2024 Pradel Research Award, Arlotta social

Arlotta investigates the mechanisms that control the development of cellular diversity in the mammalian cerebral cortex, and explores how different cell classes communicate with each other to drive the formation of the key structural features of the cerebral cortex. She has made important contributions to generating and applying human pluripotent stem cell-derived brain organoid models to understand the development of the human cortex, and to investigate how the human brain is affected by neurodevelopmental and neuropsychiatric disease.

Watch Arlotta’s acceptance speech.

Award History

The first Pradel Research Award was presented to Dora E. Angelaki in 2012 for her fundamental discoveries on mechanisms of representation of vestibular sensory stimuli within the mammalian brain. Previous recipients of the Pradel Research Award continue to achieve outstanding advancements in their fields.

Most Recent Recipient
Paola Arlotta, 2024 Pradel Reseach Award
Paola Arlotta
Call for Nominations

Awards will be presented in a variety of fields including biophysics, astronomy, microbiology, medical sciences, and more.

Sign up for Newsletter

Join the awards mailing list to receive updates including news, nomination details, and deadlines.


* indicates required
Award Types

Previous Award Recipients

Hongkui Zeng
Edward Chang
Tirin Moore
Leslie B. Vosshall
Liqun Luo
Silvia Arber