Camillo De Lellis, Institute for Advanced Study, received the 2022 Maryam Mirzakhani Prize in Mathematics.

De Lellis is receiving the $20,000 prize for his fundamental contributions to the study of dissipative solutions to the incompressible Euler equations and to the regularity theory of minimal surfaces.

De Lellis' scientific production spurred several developments in partial differential equations, geometric analysis, and the calculus of variations. His work provided groundbreaking new insight into theoretical fluid dynamics with the recognition of a deep connection between irregular solutions of the Euler equations and the Nash-Kuiper isometric embedding theorem. He has also made significant contributions to the regularity theory of surfaces which minimize the area and to the understanding of their singularities.

The Mirzakhani Prize (formerly the NAS Award in Mathematics) was established in 1988 by the American Mathematical Society in honor of its centennial. The prize was renamed to honor the late Maryam Mirzakhani (1977-2017), a highly accomplished and talented mathematician, professor at Stanford University, and member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences. She was the first woman to win the Fields Medal, the most prestigious award in mathematics, often equated in stature with the Nobel Prize.  Made possible through generous gifts from the Simons Foundation and other benefactors, this $20,000 prize will be awarded biennially for exceptional contributions to the mathematical sciences by a mid-career mathematician.


Press Release »

Maryam Mirzakhani Prize in Mathematics »

2022 NAS Award Recipients »

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software