All Medals banner small

All Medals banner small

Since 1886, the National Academy of Sciences has honored outstanding achievement in the physical, biological, and social sciences through its awards program.


  • 2020 Awards Ceremony 
    The Awards Ceremony will be webcast live on April 26 at 4:15pm Eastern. To RSVP for the webcast, or if you have any questions, please contact
  • 2020 NAS Public Welfare Medal  
    The National Academy of Sciences is presenting its 2020 Public Welfare Medal to distinguished science and political communication scholar Kathleen Hall Jamieson for her “non-partisan crusade to ensure the integrity of facts in public discourse and development of the science of scientific communication to promote public understanding of complex issues.”
  • 2020 NAS Award Recipients Announced
    The NAS honors 15 individuals with awards in recognition of their extraordinary scientific achievements in a wide range of fields spanning the physical, biological, and medical sciences.
  • 2020 Maryam Mirzakhani Prize in Mathematics 
    The inaugural recipient for the newly named Maryam Mirzakhani Prize in Mathematics is Larry Guth of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology! He is being honored for developing surprising, original, and deep connections between geometry, analysis, topology, and combinatorics, which have led to the solution of, or major advances on, many outstanding problems in these fields.
  • Previous NAS Public Welfare Medal recipient, Alan Alda, is teaming up with Scripps Research - one of the largest science and medical research communities in the country - to teach scientists and medical professionals to communicate more effectively. Read more about thier collaboartion here.

To get awards news straight to your inbox, make sure to sign up for our Connect with Awards newsletter.

Featured Award

The William and Katherine Estes Award (formerly the NAS Award for Behavioral Research Relevant to the Prevention of Nuclear War) recognizes basic research in any field of cognitive or behavioral science that uses rigorous formal and empirical methods to advance our understanding of issues relating to the risk of nuclear war. This award was established by a gift of William and Katherine Estes and includes a $20,000 prize.

Etel Solingen, University of California, Irvine, received the 2018 William and Katherine Estes Award. For more than two decades, Solingen has focused on the risks of nuclear proliferation and the domestic incentives of states for seeking nuclear weapons. Her research has also advanced our understanding of how policymakers can design effective policies to limit the risk of nuclear war. Solingen’s work remains on the major reading lists worldwide regarding efforts to prevent nuclear proliferation. Read more about Solingen's work»

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software