All Medals banner small

All Medals banner small

Connect with Awards

Join the awards mailing list to receive updates including news, nomination details, and deadlines.

Since 1886, the National Academy of Sciences has honored outstanding achievement in the physical, biological, and social sciences through its awards program.


  • NAS Award in Molecular Biology: Age Limit Extended
    The NAS Award in Molecular Biology recognizes a recent notable discovery by a young scientist (preferably no older than 45) who is a citizen of the United States. In certain cases, scientists up to 50 years of age are eligible for consideration. For example, having children or other life events that routinely add time to tenure clocks. For nominations of scientists over 45, please describe in the nomination letter why an age extension is appropriate. 

Looking Forward- Featured Recipient

Previous NAS award recipients continue to achieve outstanding advancements in their fields. Over 120 have received a National Medal of Science, 79 have received a Nobel Prize, and 51 have a Lasker Award. NAS Awards: Looking Forward checks back in with previous award recipients. 

NAS member Howard Y. Chang, Stanford University, received the 2018 NAS Award in Molecular Biology for making major contributions to genome science in his discoveries about a new class of genes called long noncoding RNAs, which are pervasive in the human genome. Long noncoding RNAs are important causes of cancer metastasis and other human diseases. Since receiving the award, Chang's work has focused on cancer immunotherapy.

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software