BAG Prize Awards Banners

BAG Prize Awards Banners

Benjamin Apthorp Gould Prize

Awarded in recognition of scientific accomplishments in astronomy by an American citizen. Established by Miss Alice Bache Gould in memory of her father in 1897. In 1981 the Council of the Academy approved use of the Gould Fund to provide modest research grants in the field of astronomy, which are administered by Sigma Xi.


Elizabeth Roemer (1971)

K. I. Kellermann (1973)

Lodewijk Woltjer (1975)
For his distinguished researches on the Crab Nebula and on galactic magnetic fields and his performance as the editor (1967-74) of the Astronomical Journal.

Irwin I. Shapiro (1979)

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software