NAS Award in Applied Math

NAS Award in Applied Math

NAS Award in Applied Mathematics and Numerical Analysis

Awarded in recognition of outstanding work in applied mathematics and numerical analysis by a candidate whose research has been carried out in institutions located in North America. Established through funds provided by the IBM Corporation. Discontinued in 2005.


Kurt Otto Friedrichs (1972)
For his outstanding contributions in applied mathematics, in numerical analysis, and in the unification of mathematical principles.

Samuel Karlin (1973)
For his brilliant and productive mathematical work encompassing genetics, economics, approximation theory, probability, and statistics, and game theory.

Chia-Chiao Lin (1976)
For his fundamental contributions to fluid mechanics, especially for his path-breaking work on stability of fluid flows.

George B. Dantzig (1977)
For his pioneering and fundamental work in the theory and application of programming, operations research, and in mathematical modeling of economic systems.

Martin D. Kruskal (1977)

George F. Carrier (1980)
For his innovative and imaginative use of mathematics in the solution of a wide variety of challenging and significant scientific and engineering problems.

Peter D. Lax (1983)
For his penetrating, variegated, and fundamental contributions to mathematical theory and its applications to problems in functional analysis, numerical analysis, linear and non linear partial differential equations, wave propagation, and scattering theory.

Oscar E. Lanford III (1986)
For his profound and penetrating solution of outstanding problems of statistical mechanics.

Alexandre J. Chorin (1989)
For his numerous and deep investigations of scientific problems by means of computation and, in particular, for his development of the vorticity method for solving a wide variety of problems in fluid dynamics.

Andrew J. Majda (1992)
For his extraordinary insight and invaluable contributions to the analysis and application of partial differential equations, especially to supersonic flow, combustion, vortex motion, and turbulent diffusion.

Julian D. Cole (1995, shared)
For his original and fundamental contributions to applied mathematics and numerical analysis. His work is characterized by its deep physical and mathematical insights.

Joseph B. Keller (1995, shared)
For his seminal contributions to applied mathematics, with special reference to his geometrical theory of diffraction and his work on water-wave propagation.

Paul R. Garabedian (1998)
For his spectacular contributions to computational fluid dynamics, especially the mathematical design of the first shock-free transonic airfoil, and for future controlled thermonuclear fusion, the first stellarator with an almost smooth magnetic field.

Heinz-Otto Kreiss (2002)
For his seminal contribution to the understanding of differential and difference equations and for his many outstanding contributions to numerical analysis, fluid dynamics, and meteorology.

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software