Thomas Vidick, California Institute of Technology and Weizmann Institute of Sciences, received the 2023 Michael and Sheila Held Prize.

Vidick has deepened and transformed our understanding of quantum complexity and quantum cryptography.

Vidick’s research is at the interface of theoretical computer science, quantum information and cryptography. His work has led to the proof that the class of languages in which membership may be established by quantum multiprover interactive proof systems is equal to the class of recursively enumerable languages.

His contributions to quantum cryptography include the first proof of security of device-independent quantum key distribution. Vidick is also known for developing the first polynomial-time algorithm for computing ground states of gapped one-dimensional quantum spin systems.

The Michael and Sheila Held Prize is presented annually and honors outstanding, innovative, creative, and influential research in the areas of combinatorial and discrete optimization, or related parts of computer science, such as the design and analysis of algorithms and complexity theory. This $100,000 prize is intended to recognize recent work (defined as published within the last eight years). The prize was established in 2017 by the bequest of Michael and Sheila Held.


Press Release »

Michael and Sheila Held Prize »

2023 NAS Award Recipients »

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software