All Medals banner small

All Medals banner small

Citation Examples

A citation is a 50-word summary stating why the nominee should be considered for this award. Below, please find examples of citations for previous winners.

Alexander Hollaender Award in Biophysics

For her innovative contributions to assess quality and accuracy of macromolecular structures through the development of methods for the analysis, representation, and validation of atomic models. Her ribbon representations of protein structures have made them easily comprehensible by the entire scientific community.

Arctowski Medal

For her seminal contributions to determining the fundamental physics of collisionless shocks in space plasmas and the understanding of the dynamics of the magnetospheres of Earth, Jupiter, and Saturn.

Comstock Prize in Physics

For demonstrating quantum degeneracy and the formation of a molecular Bose‐Einstein condensate in ultra‐cold fermionic atomic gases, and for pioneering work in polar molecular quantum chemistry..

G. K. Warren Prize

For her contributions to understanding fluvial processes, how they are expressed in the rock record, and how they shape our understanding of ecological change throughout the history of life on land. 

Michael and Sheila Held Prize

For a body of work which revolutionizes our understanding of optimization and complexity. It better explains the exact limits to efficient approximation of NP-hard problems. It provides better understanding of the computational assumptions underlying hardness of approximation. And it develops a structure theory of linear and semi-definite programming and their hierarchies, which leads to new algorithms and new lower bounds.

NAS Award for Chemistry in Service to Society

For his discovery, synthesis and commercial development of atorvastatin (Lipitor), the most successful cholesterol lowering medicine in history, which has extended the lifespan of millions of people worldwide.

NAS Award for Scientific Discovery

For his 2009 development of ribosome profiling, a powerful technique that makes possible genome-wide analysis of protein synthesis in living cells at high resolution, and its subsequent use to reveal many unanticipated, critical molecular insights concerning the process whereby RNA sequences are translated into protein sequences. 

NAS Award for Scientific Reviewing

For exemplary reviews of the scientific literature on the crime-prevention effects of criminal and social sanctions. These reviews have altered the course of criminological theory and empirical research and have greatly informed analysis of public policy.

NAS Award in Chemical Sciences

For her pioneering contributions to our understanding of the chemical, biological and spectroscopic properties of the DNA double helix.

NAS Award in Early Earth and Life Sciences (Stanley Miller Medal)

For his outstanding modelling studies of planetary atmospheres and habitability that constrain the environmental context for the origin of life.

NAS Award in Molecular Biology

For his landmark discovery that bacteria have adaptive immune systems, groundbreaking work that catalyzed the manipulation of the CRISPR-Cas9 pathway for genome engineering.

NAS Prize in Food and Agriculture Sciences

For insights and discoveries that changed our understanding of quantitative genetics, for facilitating genetic characterization of genes underlying critical traits and their deployment for breeding programs in a myriad of species, and for exemplary collegiality in sharing resources for the betterment of crops and the human condition.

NAS Public Welfare Medal

For her leadership in linking science, public policy, and citizen engagement to address urgent issues of global environmental change.

Pradel Research Award

For his pioneering work to develop technologies for imaging cellular and synaptic structure and activity in the brain, and for using these methods to obtain insight into how the brain represents and stores information about sensory stimuli and transforms such information into action during motivated behavior.

Richard Lounsbery Award

For groundbreaking contributions to genetics and global health, including development of new methods to study evolutionary selection in humans and viruses, creation of new collaborative models for combatting emerging diseases across disciplinary and national borders, and leadership of global efforts to increase data sharing in pandemics including Ebola and Lassa Fever.

Selman A. Waksman Award in Microbiology

For his many seminal contributions to understanding the mechanisms by which herpes viruses replicate and cause disease.

Troland Research Awards

For her fundamental contributions to our understanding of human skill learning and performance breakdowns in high-pressure and anxiety-provoking situations.

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software