Header Sackler Prize Convergence

Header Sackler Prize Convergence

Scheduled for presentation in 2018 in convergence research that benefits human health. Nominations accepted online through Monday, October 2, 2017.

About the Raymond and Beverly Sackler Prize in Convergence Research

The Raymond and Beverly Sackler Prize in Convergence Research recognizes significant advances in convergence research -- the integration of two or more of the following disciplines: mathematics, physics, chemistry, biomedicine, biology, astronomy, earth sciences, engineering, and computational science -- for achievements possible only through such integration. The 2017 prize is presented for convergence research that benefits any area of science such as agriculture, energy, the environment, or major advances in technology (such as imaging, nanotechnology, robotics, communications, or computing).

Most Recent Recipient

Frances H. Arnold will receive the 2017 Raymond and Beverly Sackler Prize in Convergence Research. Arnold’s pioneering work on enzymes took its cue from natural evolutionary processes. She developed a technique called directed evolution, which emulates natural selection through iterative application of random mutagenesis and rapid mutant screening in order to accumulate beneficial mutations. During the 1990s, Arnold invented this technology in order to “breed” proteins with desirable traits that would have been difficult or impossible to design. The work has led to the creation of a broad array of new and useful enzymes, which are used in pharmaceuticals, biofuels, plastics, research reagents, diagnostics, and other specialties, a field collectively worth an estimated $2 billion a year.

Beyond that, Arnold’s work also has provided insight into natural processes, allowing researchers to examine the molecular basis of protein function and evolution and experimentally test evolutionary theory.

Her most recent work takes this even further by developing enzymes that have no biological counterparts and that have tremendous implications for the creation of new types of catalysts. Read more about Arnold's work


Frances H. Arnold (2017)
For her pioneering directed molecular evolution strategies, used worldwide to optimize the functions of enzymes and to engineer cells to produce biofuels and chemicals from renewable resources.
Read more about Arnold's work  

Stephen R. Quake (2016)
For his innovative technological advances in microfluidics and genomics that made possible new non-invasive diagnostic procedures  to detect at the single cell and single molecule levels a variety of disease conditions, such as brain tumors  and the rejection of transplanted organs, as well as the prenatal diagnosis of genetic diseases
Read more about Quake's work 

Chad A. Mirkin (2015)
For impressively integrating chemistry, materials science, molecular biology, and biomedicine in the development of spherical nucleic acids and new types of nanostructures that are widely used in the rapid and automated diagnosis of infectious diseases and many other human diseases—including cancers and cardiac disease—and in the detection of drug-resistant bacteria.
Read more about Mirkin's work 

Read the Press Release  
Watch the presentation ceremony  


Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software