Sackler Prize Convergence

Sackler Prize Convergence

About the Raymond and Beverly Sackler Prize in Convergence Research

The Raymond and Beverly Sackler Prize in Convergence Research recognizes significant advances in convergence research—the integration of two or more of the following disciplines: mathematics, physics, chemistry, biomedicine, biology, astronomy, earth sciences, engineering, and computational science -- for achievements possible only through such integration. The 2018 prize is presented for convergence research that benefits human health.

Most Recent Recipient

Frances H. Arnold received the 2017 Raymond and Beverly Sackler Prize in Convergence Research. Arnold’s pioneering work on enzymes took its cue from natural evolutionary processes. She developed a technique called directed evolution, which emulates natural selection through iterative application of random mutagenesis and rapid mutant screening in order to accumulate beneficial mutations. During the 1990s, Arnold invented this technology in order to “breed” proteins with desirable traits that would have been difficult or impossible to design. The work has led to the creation of a broad array of new and useful enzymes, which are used in pharmaceuticals, biofuels, plastics, research reagents, diagnostics, and other specialties, a field collectively worth an estimated $2 billion a year.

Beyond that, Arnold’s work also has provided insight into natural processes, allowing researchers to examine the molecular basis of protein function and evolution and experimentally test evolutionary theory.

Her most recent work takes this even further by developing enzymes that have no biological counterparts and that have tremendous implications for the creation of new types of catalysts. Read more about Arnold's work»


Frances H. Arnold (2017)
For her pioneering directed molecular evolution strategies, used worldwide to optimize the functions of enzymes and to engineer cells to produce biofuels and chemicals from renewable resources.
Read more about Arnold's work» 

Stephen R. Quake (2016)
For his innovative technological advances in microfluidics and genomics that made possible new non-invasive diagnostic procedures  to detect at the single cell and single molecule levels a variety of disease conditions, such as brain tumors  and the rejection of transplanted organs, as well as the prenatal diagnosis of genetic diseases
Read more about Quake's work»

Chad A. Mirkin (2015)
For impressively integrating chemistry, materials science, molecular biology, and biomedicine in the development of spherical nucleic acids and new types of nanostructures that are widely used in the rapid and automated diagnosis of infectious diseases and many other human diseases—including cancers and cardiac disease—and in the detection of drug-resistant bacteria.
Read more about Mirkin's work»

Read the Press Release»
Watch the presentation ceremony»


Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software