2018 Awards Banner

2018 Awards Banner

The National Academy of Sciences will honor the following individuals with awards in recognition of their extraordinary scientific achievements in a wide variety of fields. These awards will be presented to on April 29 during the Academy's 155th annual meeting.

NAS Public Welfare Medal
Paul Farmer
For pioneering enduring, community-based treatment strategies that demonstrate the delivery of high-quality health care in resource-poor settings in the U.S. and other countries.

The NAS Public Welfare Medal is the Academy's most prestigious award and is presented annually to honor extraordinary use of science for the public good.

Alexander Agassiz Medal
Dean Roemmich
For his leadership in understanding the ocean’s roles in climate variability and change.

Atkinson Prize in Psychological and Cognitive Sciences
Barbara Dosher
For her groundbreaking work on human memory, attention, and learning.

Atkinson Prize in Psychological and Cognitive Sciences
Richard M. Shiffrin
For pioneering contributions to the investigation of memory and attention.

Daniel Giraud Elliot Medal
Günter Wagner
For his book “Homology, Genes, and Evolutionary Innovation,” which makes fundamental contributions to our understanding of the evolution of complex organisms.

Gilbert Morgan Smith Medal
Mark E. Hay
For his research into algal science, with implications for the world’s imperiled coral reefs.

J. Lawrence Smith Medal
Kevin D. McKeegan
For discoveries related to the oxygen isotopic composition of the sun.

James Craig Watson Medal
Ewine F. van Dishoeck
For improving our understanding of how molecules, stars, and planets form.

Jessie Stevenson Kovalenko Medal
James P. Allison
For important medical discoveries related to the body’s immune response to tumors.

John J. Carty Award for the Advancement of Science
David M. Kreps, Paul R. Milgrom, Robert B. Wilson
For using game theory to help solve real-world problems.

Michael and Sheila Held Prize
Prasad Raghavendra and David Steurer
For revolutionizing our understanding of optimization and complexity in computer science.

NAS Award for Scientific Reviewing
Adriaan Bax
For contributions that have greatly impacted the field of structural biology.

NAS Award in Chemical Sciences
Jennifer A. Doudna
For co-inventing the technology for efficient site-specific genome engineering using CRISPR/Cas9 nucleases.

NAS Award in Molecular Biology
Howard Y. Chang
For the discovery of long noncoding RNAs and the invention of genomic technologies.

NAS Prize in Food and Agriculture Sciences
Rodolphe Barrangou
For his discovery of the genetic mechanisms and proteins driving CRISPR-Cas systems.

Pradel Research Award
Silvia Arber
For her groundbreaking research on the organization and function of circuits regulating motor behavior.

Troland Research Award
Marlene R. Cohen
For her pioneering studies of how neurons in the brain process visual information.

Troland Research Award
Josh McDermott
For groundbreaking research into how humans hear and interpret sound.

William and Katherine Estes Award
Etel Solingen
For pathbreaking work on nuclear proliferation and reducing the risks of nuclear war.

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software